Back to the Beginning

Standard

What’s worse than starting at the beginning? Starting all over again.

Beginnings are hard, usually because they start at the ending of something else.

This year marks the beginning of my 30’s and the end of my 20’s. My original goal was to publish a book by the time I turned 30, but alas, I am only starting–or rather starting over yet again.

How could I not finish a book in a decade? Well, I did, actually. I completed a draft for book one and two. I spent hours outlining, researching, writing, re-writing, falling in and filling in plotholes.

So why is there not a completed MS?

I believe your twenties are for discovery and learning.

What I discovered: There were a lot of plot holes in my writing.

What I learned: This story was good but it could be better. I also discovered that my major supporting character should really be my main character. That changes everything.

So after starting all over on the outline, yet again, I finally began the first chapter for hopefully the last time.

So I didn’t accomplish my original goal. I thought I’d be finished by now, not starting over. I didn’t publish, but I did accomplish something. With diligent research and outlining and planning, I think I will be able to write the best book I possibly can by the time I’m 40.

 

7 thoughts on “Back to the Beginning

  1. Pushing things back is tough, but I admire you for having the diligence and patience to let yourself grow first. When I was a teen, I was set on publishing as early as I possibly could, and I quickly learned how much of a mistake that was. It’s far more important to have your best work out there later in life than it is to have something that isn’t ready out there too early. I can’t wait to hear about the progress you’re making with it! 🙂

  2. Don’t get too discouraged. Writing is tough and a learning process. If the mistakes you make now help you create that masterpiece later (by whatever definition you wish to use) then all the more power to you.

Leave a Reply

