How to set up a mailing list on WordPress.com

Standard

You’ll all notice I have a newsletter sign up form on the left side of my blog. While I’d love to write a blog post about how to use MailChimp to create a newsletter for your blog, Dylan says it all in his how-to post. I had a little trouble linking the sign up form ot my blog until I followed his advice word by word. It’s so easy a caveman could do it.

Suffolk Scribblings

Mailing lists are a key tool to help any author build an audience, and for fans of the author’s work to have access to exclusive content and information about new releases before anyone else. These are not to be confused by your blog sign-up, which informs those signed up of new blog posts.

At the end of last week I announced to the world that I’d set up a mailing list to inform people about any future releases. While the mailing list has proved popular (getting a free book may have helped) by far the biggest question I was asked was: how did you set up your mailing list?

Sadly, unlike on wordpress.org self-hosted blogs, there isn’t a specific widget available to link to a mailing list service. However, there is a workaround you can use. I set my mailing list up with MailChimp, an excellent free-to-use service. There are many other services available…

View original post 370 more words

5 thoughts on “How to set up a mailing list on WordPress.com

    • It was harder than I thought. I’m familiar with Mailchimp. I used it when I worked at Allstate, but I couldn’t figure out how to link the sign up form without plugins (don’t even ask me what those are). This was so easy.

Leave a Reply

