Do dishes, go to the gym, pick up child from school, write the next best-selling fantasy novel: You know, just your typical to-do list.

Standard

The life of a working adult is busy, and writers are no exception. If anything, we’re busier than the average adult.

My to-do list today literally looks like this:

  • buy drano
  • get gas
  • blog
  • wash dishes
  • fill out forms for summer camp
  • clean car
  • put clothes away
  • finish outlining book one
  • edit chapter 9-10 of sister’s fantasy parody
  • pick up child from school
  • go to gym

Yup, just your typical to-do list . . . if you’re a writer, anyway.

A non-writer’s list stops at put clothes away, freeing them to watch Netflix or pursue some other pleasure in their–what’s that word again? . . . oh yeah, free time.

A list certainly helps categorize, order, even prioritize chores that need done, but a calendar is so much better. Join me Tuesday for my next Tuesday Tip which will be all about making a writing/life calendar. Guaranteed to help you turn your to-do’s into already done.

What does your to-do list look like? How many writing vs non-writing items are on your list? How many can you check off in a day?

11 thoughts on “Do dishes, go to the gym, pick up child from school, write the next best-selling fantasy novel: You know, just your typical to-do list.

  1. Jon

    1. get up 2. hour long commute 3. Do day job 4. Repeat step 2 5. Cook and eat supper 6. Fall asleep … no, wait, there’s something missing in that sequence. Definitely tuning in next Tuesday!

  2. I tend to do weekly goals. Easier on the confidence. Though this week is filled with birthday parties, driving family to the airport, and school stuff for the kid. So my writing part of the to-do list is mostly ‘outline if you can’. Curious about Tuesday now.

    • I always like to write tips about things I’ve actually found to be tried and true. My sister and I keep a joint calendar that helps us plan our work, family, and writing so that nothing overlaps.

  3. Your list made me laugh. I make lists too, and I don’t like them as much as I depend on them. I feel like I’ve squeezed every minute out of my day to make time for writing. I’m looking forward to your tips.

Leave a Reply

