Are Local Author Events Worth Doing? Reflections from Friday’s Read Local Library Book Fair

Standard

Local author events: Are they worth the time? My sister thinks so. Find out why.

Kylie Betzner

author 6 My booth set-up.

On Friday, May 1st, as part of First Friday’s in downtown Kokomo Indiana, the Kokomo Howard County Public Library (KHCPL) hosted a book fair featuring local authors from Howard and neighboring counties. Nearly 30 authors participated on that day, including me and my friend Teri Robison, author of The Secrets of Heavenly. 

I had low expectations going into this event considering the library has hosted similar events in the past with little success. The media coverage was sparse to say the least. My own feature in the Kokomo Tribune had run several months ago, and all of the articles the week of the event focused more on Saturday’s speaker rather than on Friday’s authors. With that in mind, I only brought about 30 books and half of my table decorations.

author4 Even mom showed up to offer her support!

However, once the event got underway, and once I sold…

View original post 386 more words

Leave a Reply

