No Date, No Problem

Standard

All the single ladies–and men–put your hands up! This year I’ll be spending V-Day all by my onesies. Being single doesn’t bother me. After all, I’m single, not alone.

Valentine’s Day is about love, not just romantic love. It’s a time to celebrate all the things and people you care about. For instance, I love my family, wine, reading, writing,and music, so I’ll be indulging in those things.

Time with the Family

I spent Thursday with my mom, brother and his wife, my sister, and my son (not to mention three cats and a dog) for an early V-Day dinner. Today–the day–it will just be me and my sister.

Patty_y_SelmaI’d like to say we are going to spend the evening leisurely drinking a bottle of wine, but our bottle of pink moscato is already gone (did I mention I love wine), so we’ll probably just hang out on the couch and talk. To be honest, this is my idea of a good time. I love my sister more than anyone, so it only makes sense that I’d spend the day with her. Isn’t that what the holiday is all about?

A Blind Date With a Book

untitledIf you’re looking for love, go to the library, not the bar. Bed, bath, couch, kitchen table: a book can go wherever a man can. This year, I’ll be cuddling up with a few books. If you follow me on twitter and Facebook, you know my library is hosting “Blind Date with a Book.” I picked a romance because I figure you can’t go wrong with a romance. I got “Night Storm.” I don’t know if I’ll read the entire thing. I’ll probably just skim to find the naughty parts. Regardless of whether I got a good book, I thought this was a great idea. Check out your library to see if they have anything like this. If you’re leery of meeting strangers, you can always re-read one of your favorite books Looking at my bookshelf, I don’t have a lot of romances, but “Pride and Prejudice” is a great love story. Or if you haven’t read “Princess Bride,” I recommend it. After all, that’s the love story that teaches you love can overcome anything, even death or large rats.

Instead of revisiting my bookshelf, I’ll be reading something new. I recently purchased “Grá mo Chroí: Love Stories from Irish Myth” by Jane Dougherty and Ali Issac. I’m a sucker for anything Irish, and romance (I’ll ship anything that moves), so this book was right up my alley. I’ve been playing Irish music on my Pandora nonstop, and so far these stories remind me of my favorite Irish love songs. Handsome men, tragic love stories, magic and mythology. What’s not to like?

If you haven’t checked it out, here’s the description from Amazon:

coverLong ago in a green island surrounded by protective mists, a people lived among the relics of a bygone age of which they knew nothing, not being archaeologists, but around whom they created a mythology. They were a volatile people, easily moved to love or war, and motivated by a strict sense of honour. They had women warriors and handsome lovers, wicked queens and cruel kings, precious heroines and flawed heroes. Magic was in the air, beneath the ground, and in the waves of the sea, and hyperbole was the stuff of stories. They were the Irish, and these are a few retellings of some of their beautiful stories.

Write Mr. Right?

While I can’t say I’ll get a lot of writing done today, I may spend some time fantasizing about some of my fantasy men (pun intended). I know it sounds vain, but who hasn’t fallen in love with one of their leading men. When I was in high school I fell in love with Sagaru, the main man in a Japanese/fantasy novel I wrote. If he’d come to life, I’d be Mrs. Sagaru by now. I don’t think I’d date any men from my current WIP, except maybe Ashby, of course. Maybe I’ll have to pick a romantic scene to write in honor of the holiday.

So my advice to all of you today regardless of your marital status, spend the day with those you love doing things you love. Watch a movie, read a book, listen to music, or cuddle with your kitty (if you have a kitty that cuddles instead of claws). Don’t waste it with bad people or bad books.

Well, I’ve got to wrap this up. If you haven’t already, check out “Grá mo Chroí.” Nothing is more romantic than an old Irish love story or song, so please enjoy this old Gaelic love song I’ve been playing nonstop while gearing up for V-Day and St. Patrick’s Day.

 

 

6 thoughts on “No Date, No Problem

  1. Great post! You are so right… I have a husband but he was out at the rugby and then the soccer with my sons, so so far today I have spent my time with my daughter, my dog and my shiny red laptop, FoxyRoxy, all of whom I love!

    Date with a book, what a great idea for a library promotion! And thanks so much for buying and mentioning our book, hope you like it!

  2. Lovely music. I’ve always been partial to Irish music — the Chieftains, Tannahill Weavers, Connemara, Riverdance. And you’re right. Valentine’s Day is for spending with those you love. I’m spending the day with my kids. We’re going to break out the popcorn and watch a movie. I like your blind date at the library idea. I’ll have to try it. Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

