A Long Expected Party: Celebrating Hobbit Style!

Standard
meandsis

We partied like it was Mereth Nuin Giliath!

Last night I had a long-expected party, a Hobbit party. My sister and I just saw The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies. I have so many thoughts and feelings after seeing the film, and I promise, this post contains no spoilers. Just hurry up and see it already. I will say this: If you’re hoping for a true adaptation of the book, you will be disappointed; however, if you like epic fantasy, grand-scale adventure, bloated, over-the-top battle scenes, and wizards busting ninja moves, you’ll love it.

I knew after seeing the third and final chapter, we’d be left with a little bit of a Hobbit hangover, kind of like the one we had after seeing The Return of the King, so I thought a party would be a great way to get closure and end the night.

My party hat is better

My party hat is better

I wish you all could have been there, but since you couldn’t be, I’d like to share some photos and moments from my party.

Hobbit Inspired Food

Hobbits are all about food. They eat 12 meals a day after all. Our Hobbit inspired menu included cheese, a meat log, ale, and pizza. I’m pretty sure if pizza existed in Middle Earth, hobbits and dwarves would have loved it. Elves . . . not so much.

deco

What’s yummier than cake, Lee Pace’s face on a cake of course. Doesn’t he look delicious. Usually I go straight for a corner edge piece instead of a center piece, but who wouldn’t want to eat the Elven King? He’s so om nom nommy.

elfcake

Frosted and Fabulous

This cake was too pretty to eat, but too delicious not to. I still have plenty of leftovers. I really wish I could share it with you.

pacecake

Eating Lee Pace’s face!

paceface

Decorations

The decorations were pretty simple. Aside from ordering balloons, I printed off some signs and posted them everywhere. I did, however, get a little crafty. With just some ordinary paper plates and a Sharpie paint marker, I made Hobbit door plates.

untitled

Bilbo’s door

smaug

Smaug’s edible treasure

Check out these Party Kings

Check out these Party Kings

Games

Hobbits love games, and it wouldn’t be a party without them. We danced all night, played, “what have I got in my pocket,” told riddles, and took turns shooting Smaug with a black arrow.

My cute little bowman

My cute little bowman

Middle Earth Inspired Music

All night long, we listened to music from The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogy. Six movies equals hours of Middle Earth music. It was so much fun dancing like elves and hobbits and singing along to the songs. My dance moves were a cross between Frodo and Michael Jackson because I can moonwalk.

It was quite a celebration. We partied all night like it was Mereth Nuin Giliath. I hope you all enjoyed the photos. For those of you who haven’t watched the movie, make plans this weekend to go. I’ll be seeing it again for sure. For those of you who have, what are your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “A Long Expected Party: Celebrating Hobbit Style!

  1. I didn’t see one of the hobbit movies, but when i saw this article on my reader page i just had to read it. I think it’s just such a great idea to celebrate a Hobbit-Hangover with your friends who love the same movie! Definitely something people should do more often. Liked your post and liked your pictures. Enjoy your Hobbit-Hangover (:

Leave a Reply

