Tuesday Tip

Standard

tip#1This week, the third and final installment of The Hobbit trilogy premieres in the U.S. Obviously my mind is in Middle Earth and not in the real world. In honor of the very last movie, I’m going to publish a series of blog post dedicated to The Hobbit, starting with this week’s Tuesday Tip: How to celebrate premiere week hobbit style.

Have a Hobbitathon

6-filmsI did this Friday with my son while he was home sick. Watching the first two movies made him feel better and got him pumped for the last one. I recommend watching all of the movies in order from beginning to end. Better yet, watch the first two installments of The Hobbit, followed by or preceded by the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy. That’s almost 20 hours of movie viewing mayhem. If you’re a diehard fan, watch  the extended versions instead of the regular movies.

Plan a Long-Expected Party

You can host your own Hobbit-themed party, or you can join me this Thursday on Twitter for my Hobbit party. There will be cake, food, music, and party games all inspired by the movies. Unfortunately we can’t share food via Twitter, which is a shame because this cake is going to look and taste amazing, but we can share our thoughts on the movies, our favorite moments, pictures, and a riddle or two. Party starts around 7:00. I’ll be tweeting up a storm. I hope you’ll join me!

If you want to find a party in your hometown, check out this lineup posted on TheOneRing.net. 

Dance like a Hobbit

Do you know the song the hobbits dance to in The Fellowship of the Ring has a name? It’s called “Flaming Red Hair.” This happens to be one of the songs on my party playlist. I’m going to bust a move–and probably a toe dancing Hobbit style at my party. Don’t be shy. Grab a partner and dance your feet off . . . or maybe just have another ale.

Maybe I'll just have another ale . . .

Maybe I’ll just have another ale . . .

Say Your Last Goodbye

What better way to say goodbye than with the song “The Last Goodbye” by Billy Boyd. What an appropriate song title. This does feel like a final farewell. How many times have you or will you play this song before you hear it in theaters? My sister and I will probably be singing along with the credits like we did last year to Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire.” If you haven’t had a chance to hear “The Last Goodbye,” check out this music video.

Learn Elvish

Spanish would certainly be the more practical language. After all, you’re not likely to bump into an elf on a daily basis, but hey, people speak Harappan. What’s better than a dead language–a made up one of course! I’m sure there are a lot of guides online, or maybe even a book. There is a book on how to speak Dothraki, so anything’s possible. If you learn only one word, learn friend, which is mellon, but if you master the language, use it to have conversations you don’t want other people to hear.

KTWxZLC

Read Tolkien

Not caught up, if you’re a fast reader, you still have time to read the entire book before seeing the movie. Already read the book? Don’t worry, I’m sure there will still be plenty of surprises. After all, we don’t know what will happen to Tauriel.

Eat like a Hobbit

The food doesn’t matter as much as the quantity. Cheese, breads, mushrooms, and meats, are good choices. Don’t forget ale and tea.

It’s not about what you eat, it’s when you eat. Breakfast, second breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch, dinner, elevenses, etc. Hobbits eat about 12 meals a day.

Dress up as your Favorite Character

IMG_12841I already dressed up as my favorite character this year for Kokomo Con. If you want to see more pictures of me dressed up as Thranduil, check out my post here. I won’t be the party king-er-queen this Thursday, however. The zipper of my robe is still broken. On the plus side, my crown is intact. You can bet, I’ll be wearing it with my party glasses.

Dress up at home, or if you’re truly brave, dress up at work or for the theater. If you dress as Thranduil, I recommend that you remove your crown so you don’t block other’s views.

Play Hobbit Games

Hobbits love games, especially riddles. Join me Thursday for Riddles in the dark. I’ll post some riddles on Twitter to see who guesses them first.

Walk Around Bare Foot

Be proud of your feet. Walk around bare foot outside, at the office, the gym . . . or at least at home.

Tolkien trivia

Test the knowledge of everyone around you with Tolkien trivia. This will be a lot of fun for fellow fans . . . and really annoying to those who haven’t seen or didn’t like the movies. Use quotes and references from the movies and books liberally, as often as possible. Drive people insane.

Enjoy Hobbit Parody

The internet and YouTube are great places to spiral into a Hobbit hole. Check out these great videos satyring the films.

Shop at the Hobbit Shop

IMG_14251Since I can’t wear my Thranduil robe, I’ve got two or three shirts on the way. This stuff ships super quick too. I love this shirt. How cool is it that Lee Pace’s face is on my boob. Haha!

Go to a Bar and Drink like a Dwarf and Sing like an Elf

IMG_12761I’m thinking about doing this. Not sure if my sister would be game, but how awesome would it be to drink an ale and start singing “I See Fire” and “The Last Goodbye.” I’ve already been to the bar dressed as Thranduil, so I’m sure this wouldn’t be the oddest thing I’ve done.

Cry

Last but not least, cry all the tears. I know I’m going to. And I know some of you are with me. What will I do on December 17 for the next 50+ years of my life? What movies will I have to look forward to? We don’t even get another Disney princess until 2016. I’ll probably have a Lord of the Rings marathon or maybe I’ll just have to finish the next epic fantasy series.

That’s a pretty long list. Should give you plenty to do while you wait for the release. Let me know how you’ll be celebrating premiere week.

7 thoughts on “Tuesday Tip

  1. Lol – “If you dress as Thranduil, I recommend that you remove your crown so you don’t block other’s views.” That alone is a great Tuesday Tip! 😀

    As for your comment, “but hey, people speak Greek,” all I can say is, “huh”?

Leave a Reply

