Turning a Sick Day into a Writing Day

Standard

sickToday, I took a sick day. I’m not the one who’s sick, my son is. So I’ll be playing the role of Dr Mom instead of Insurance agent. It’s hardly a day off because I’ll be busy taking care of my kid and catching up on some housework. However, I figure I’ll still have some free time between doses of Tylenol, making chicken soup, checking temperatures, and reading stories. This free time will not be wasted time.

I hate taking off sick, even if that sick person isn’t me. I hate feeling like a slacker. Since I can’t be productive at work, I’m going to be productive at home. I’m really not complaining that I’ll be confined to my house. If anything, I’m happy for the justification to stay home. Once my kid is asleep and the dishes are washed, I’ll have time to do some things I haven’t had time to do.

Read

I never have time to read. As a result, I’ve acrued $10 worth of late fees from the library. I just keep renewing–and forgetting to renew–my books until I rack up enough late fees to buy an entire book. I’d like to catch up on my ebooks, but I should probably try to finish the books from the library first. Also, being the 12th, I believe my books are due today. I can renew them online, so there’s no excuse.

Chores

There really isn’t much to do except for a load of dishes and gathering my laundry for this evening. My bedroom is still a small disaster (still nicer than most people’s kitchens, I’m afraid), but I can’t even begin to improve that until I get some more furniture. This leaves lots of time for the next item on my list.

Write

My goal is to finish the first draft of my WIP today. I’d like to get this finished before next week when I’ll lose an entire night of writing to watch “The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies.”

Speaking of the Hobbit. If I need a break from writing, we are having a Hobbit party on Thursday. I have a few projects to work on in preparation. I could get a head start on those and maybe even watch the first two movies in the trilogy.

I’m going to make the most of my son’s sick day. Hopefully by the end of today, he’ll feel better and I’ll be finished with my rough draft.

5 thoughts on “Turning a Sick Day into a Writing Day

    • Thanks! I like to think I’m a cool mom. We had a hobbitathon, painted nails, read stories, watched movies, did crafts, and he had plenty of bubble baths. It’s been fun for me getting to stay home with him these last two days. I’m not used to having days off in a row, so three blows my mind.

Leave a Reply

