What’s So Good About Goodreads?

Standard

imagesCAFEMBXEIt turns out I’ve been a member of Goodreads since January–not a very active member, I might add. I have an outdated list of books I’m reading, one review, and two friends (one of them is my sister).

Today I updated my profile because I’m going to try to use Goodreads as a platform to promote my books as well as connect with readers and writers. From the research I’ve done so far, I found that Goodreads has different free features as well as other promotional tools, like advertising, to help authors get the word out. For more detailed information, please click here.

Aside from researching Goodreads via the official site and the infamous Google, I checked out what my fellow bloggers had to say. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews, such as:

  • It’s a great place to connect with other writers/readers
  • It doesn’t help increase book sales
  • It DOES increase book sales
  • It’s a great site to promote specials and publicize events
  • It doesn’t increase traffic to author sites or blogs
  • It DOES increase traffic to author sites and blogs
  • It’s a waste of time

To be honest, whenever I see reviews split down the middle like that, I do what anyone would do in the name of science: see for myself. From now on, I’m going to be a more active Goodreads member. I’d like to take this opportunity to connect with all of you there. In the comment section below, or via email (which can be found on my contacts page), please leave your name. Or feel free to send me a friend request on Goodreads.

 

12 thoughts on “What’s So Good About Goodreads?

  1. I do like Goodreads as an author AND as a reader. It’s a site dedicated to books and what can be better than that? I try to be as approachable as I can and come across as a reader too. 🙂 What’s your Goodreads name and we can connect? Mine is NNLight 🙂

  2. Goodreads is all of those things in your list because of how you use it – some authors find it doesn’t work for them and others have been successful – it depends what you want from it and also where you are in your writing career. Goodreads is a social network of readers, and that has to be valuable to any writer.

  3. I like goodreads. I have found it most useful to join some groups. For instance, there is a beta reader group, which is a great way to find beta readers (not to that point yet, but its what I’ll use when the time comes). There is a fantasy author promotional group, where there is a featured author each week, and each week everyone in the group promotes the work of the featured author. That has turned out to be a great way to connect, and a fun and supportive community. I’m also on a Sci-fi fantasy/reader group, and I will friend people the first time they introduce themselves. This seemed to indicate to me that they are new (or new to being active) and are wanting to connect. Just some positive experiences I have had. I’ll try to find you on there.

Leave a Reply

