Publishing is a Business…Why I Don’t Give my Book Away for Free

Standard

POTL: All Things Books, Reading and Publishing

Publishing is a business

My inbox is filled with newsletters and blog posts announcing free or cheap books. There is advice all over the internet preaching how, as writers, we have to have our books for free or only 99 cents.

“In order to gain readers, you need to give your work away.”

While that may be good advice for writers who have a large back list, it doesn’t help a debut writer like myself. I only have one book and to be honest, it’s not part of my business plan.

Publishing is a business. Writing may be art, but publishing, when all is said and done, comes down to dollars. 

Nicholas Sparks speaks from experience. He is one of my favorite authors and I have read many of his books. He didn’t give away his first book in order to gain readers. He put out the best book possible and worked hard on…

View original post 717 more words

Leave a Reply

