The Famous Author Who Said Teaching Was “Exhausting And Depressing”

Standard

Funny and true. Probably the best post I’ve read this week.

Dysfunctional Literacy

If you're exhausted and depressed, this is one way to handle it. If you’re exhausted and depressed, this is one way to handle it.

I don’t know much about the personal lives of authors whose books I’ve read. I think Stephen King was hit by a car once. I think Charles Bukowski drank a little bit. I believe James Patterson (whose books I don’t read) has a bunch of co-authors, so he might have a lot of spare time, but I don’t know what he does with it. The point is, I just read the books (and samples of the books). I don’t know anything about the authors.

Yesterday I found out the JRR Tolkien (author of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings) taught at several colleges while he wrote. I think I might have known that at some point in my life, but I found out again yesterday. An old colleague of his found an old letter that…

View original post 758 more words

Leave a Reply

