Countdown to Vacation

Standard

A-writer-never-has-a-vacationIn just two hours, my vacation officially begins, or does it? According to this quote, a writer never has a vacation, and to be honest, I can hardly call my time away from the office a relaxing getaway. For starters, I’m having one of those staycations where you don’t leave your house. I won’t be leaving home much, except to meet with a client to discuss an editing project. Other than that, I will hardly leave my room. During my vacation I’ll be editing, blogging, writing, thinking about writing, finishing some very-overdue library books, putting together furniture for my room, and probably watching “Frozen” and “The Hobbit” at least a dozen times.

Sometimes you don’t have to go far to get away. For me, I’m going to be right where I want to be, doing exactly what I’d like to do every day of the year. If that isn’t the definition of a vacation, I don’t know what is.

5 thoughts on “Countdown to Vacation

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog, yours is really interesting and I’m glad we connected. Speaking of vacations, I’m about to leave home for a five day camping trip, so no power for the laptop. I’m editing my latest book at the moment and while my husband drives I’ll be typing like mad until the battery runs out. After that, I will have the longest break from writing that I have had since starting two years ago. I’m going to try hard not to scribble in a note pad, but I know that I will give in and do so at every opportunity, when the family isn’t looking of course. 😉

Leave a Reply

