Disney Got it Write

Standard

TianaPinnochio and Cinderella taught us that dreams come true if you wish on a star. I don’t know about you, but If I had a penny for every star I wished on … I’d overflow a wishing well (and I’ve patronized my fair share of those). When it comes to getting published, wishing won’t write words.

Disney has certainly improved the messages in their movies in the last several decades. In The Princess and the Frog, we are taught that hard word and determination make dreams come true instead of wishing on stars.

I think many of us can relate with Tiana in the beginning of the movie when she staggers into her room after work, lays down on her bed, only for the alarm to go off seconds later. Not only is she one of the first Disney heroines to have a job, but she has more than one to achieve her dream of opening a restaurant; meanwhile she has no time for fun, love, or sleep. Kind of sounds like the life of a writer, don’t you think.

The thing about dreams is you have to make them happen, not twiddle your thoughts waiting for them  to come true. One of my campmates for NaNoWriMo asked me when I make time to write since I work until six in the evening six days a week. That leaves me with roughly four to five hours every night. Subtract and hour to eat, another for chores or spending time with my son, and that leaves me with roughly one or two hours max. During that time I write, making every second count. I’m not a mathematician or anything, but if you can write 90 words per minute, there is the potential to write thousands of words each night. I usually write between 200-1000 words. It’s like Tiana says about her tips, “Every little bit helps.”

So next time you get discouraged, and it feels as though you’ll never see your writing dreams come to fruition, don’t even glance at that north star. Just remind yourself that you’re “almost there.”

2 thoughts on “Disney Got it Write

Leave a Reply

