Camp is in Session

Standard

Camp-NaNoWriMoCamp is in session! Which means I finally have a reason to justify buying a bag of those giant marshmallows. I won’t be roasting them, unless it’s safe to cook over a candle. Being the size of a mug, they aren’t suitable for hot chocolate either, so I think I’ll just stab them with a fork and eat them bite by bite or nuke them in the microwave on a graham cracker to make s’mores.

At the last minute I decided to sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo. I was thinking about skipping it this year but It’s a great way to gain inspiration and get to know other writers. Even though it’s not a real camp (no fighting over who gets the top bunk), you get all the benefits of an actual camp. With the forums and your cabin mates, you are never writing alone. You’ll never find greater creative camaraderie than at Camp NaNoWriMo. My main focus this month is editing so I kept my goal small, only 10,000 words. Considering I’m only about 5-10,000 words away from finishing my final draft, it isn’t too low.

With my writing goals being relaxed I’ll be able to spend more time on the forums, which in the past has always been a guilty time eater for me (time I should have spent writing). I can also spend more time connecting with my cabin mates and other writers. My sister isn’t in my cabin this year, which makes me feel like when we were kids in different classrooms.

I haven’t written a word yet (gasp) because I spent the first day of camp celebrating my mom’s birthday. Before, birthdays had to take a backseat to writing, but the pressure is off this year, so a zero-word night here or there won’t make or break me.

If you’re interested in connecting with my sister and I, my sister’s name is Kitomi and mine is Skylo_Snowfire. For those of you participating this year, feel free to give me your information as well. The more campers, the merrier!

Can't wait to get to know my cabin mates

Can’t wait to get to know my cabin mates

See you all around the campfire!

5 thoughts on “Camp is in Session

  1. smwright

    I don’t know if it is technically safe to roast marshmallows by candle, but I can say it didn’t kill me, lol. However, my mommy was very cross with me, and if looks could kill…

  2. I signed up for Camp Nano at the last minute too, but I haven’t completed my novel info, etc. It seems I’ve gone camping and left all the necessities at home. Guess I’m roughing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

