Why We Write

Standard

Writing is often a discouraging, overwhelming, and intimidating task, so why do we subject ourselves to do something that is seemingly akin to torture . . . or homework?

Ask any author and they will all admit to being compelled by some internal drive. It can be a stirring, like a gentle nudge or a whisper that we feel or hear deep within us. Or it can be a constant nag that reverberates like a hammer pounding.

For me, I’ve enjoyed writing since I was a child. Before I could write, I would draw pictures to illustrate the story I wanted to tell. I’ve long since advanced from crude drawings and misspelled words to short stories, poems, and my first real attempts at writing novels.

In The Midnight Disease by Alice W. Flaherty, the author states that Neurologist may have found a scientific reason we feel the need to write. The brain produces hypergraphia, which is an overpowering desire to write. It could have something to do with the structure of certain parts of the brain. So, to summarize, writing may be a mental disorder.

Whatever the reason we write, it is important to know why you are writing. If there isn’t a reason to write your story, there isn’t a reason to read it.

4 thoughts on “Why We Write

  1. I sometimes wish I had some sort of consistent drive rather than the impulsive push that wears off like a grown-up giving a kid a swing ride at the park. You captured the inspiration well. That flicker in the mind. That “aha!” moment that gets me to scribble a quick note or a few pages of ideas/possibilities. Often, that’s as far as it goes.

    First attempts at novels? At what age were your first attempts at novels? I have yet to complete a novel. I have started a few:P But, I didn’t start until my 20’s. I’ve written a few versions/drafts of one concept I can’t seem to get to satisfactory condition. I push for perfection. For the finest crafting of words that send minds spinning with philosophy and triggered memories.

    For some, writing is screaming in their pillow. People who regularly talk blue streaks on the phone or in person turn to writing when people stop listening. Some people have word brains, and others have picture brains. Some need to see it in print. Others want to experience it visually.

      • You’re lucky you had that environment to produce a full book. Back then, I was writing too many term papers and stupid poems. It was right after high school, though, that my first novel started to take shape. It’s a bit of a project and has yet to reach completion. Everyone I know and tell this to expects more of me. I am not sure what stops me.

        Right, a few projects:P I think I have about 3 dozen decent novel ideas I haven’t flushed out. And, plenty of other lil stories and variations. If I felt good enough about some of my more spontaneous short short “blog” stories, I’d probably assemble those into some form of book. But, I don’t think I have enough in any particular “genre” to suit a collection.

  2. I hear you. It seems there are too many good ideas to try to work out. Recently, I’ve begun focusing on no more than two at a time, keeping them in different stages of the process as well. I also set monthly goals to keep it all in order. It helps.

Leave a Reply

